Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Children's Book Council Awards

​The Children's Book Council of Australia offers encouragement to published Australian authors and illustrators by presenting the annual Children's Book of the Year Award.  

Each year the School Library purchases the CBCA shortlisted books. The winners are announced at the beginning of Book Week which was 16-22 August.
The honour books and category winners of the shortlisted books are as follows:

Younger Readers: 
Winner: A Very Unusual Pursuit
Honour Books: My Life as an Alphabet and Light Horse Boy

Early Childhood:
Winner: The Swap
Honour Books: I’m a Dirty Dinosaur and Banjo and Ruby Red

Picture Book:
Winner: Rules of Summer
Honour Books: King Pig and Silver Buttons

Eve Pownall Award for Information Books:
Winner: Jeremy
Honour Books: Welcome to my Country and Ice, Wind, Rock
All of the shortlisted books have been displayed in the Library for teachers to use with students for the duration of Book Week and now will be available for borrowing by staff and students. 

Full details on the winners and honour books in each category can be found at the CBCA website​.

Kay Pike
Library Resource Officer